## Hermanus Animal Welfare Society

## <u>Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Held on Monday 22 July 2024</u> <u>at 18h00 in the Herman Swart Saal NG Kerk Hermanus</u>

1. <u>Welcome</u>: The Chairperson, Pamela Quinn, welcomed all present. Quorum confirmed by Shana Essakow (acting in Cheryl's absence)

2. <u>Attendance:</u> Pam Quinn; Marlene Deneeghere; Alro De Swart; Irene Saunders; Caroline Davies; Shana Essakow, Sheetal Gordhan, Jean Byrnes, members and staff as per attendance list.

- 3. Apologies: Cheryl Richardson, Trudi Koeleman.
- 4. <u>Minutes of previous AGM</u> had been circulated online and read. Approved: Irene Saunders: Seconded: Adele Levitan
- 5. Matters Arising: None

6. <u>Chairperson's Report</u>: Pam Quinn read her report which was very positive and detailed the growth and successes Haws had achieved in the past year. Pam announced her retirement as Chairperson. The report will be posted online on the HAWS Website.

7. <u>Treasurer's Report</u>: Alro De Swart summarized the financial situation. Also positive. Alro has resigned from the committee and the new Treasurer will be appointed in the first meeting of the new Committee. The report will be posted online on the HAWS Website.

8. <u>Auditors' Report:</u> Was circulated and read. The report will be posted online on the HAWS Website.

9. <u>Appointment of Auditors:</u> Shana nominated BVA Auditing and Assurance to be our auditors again. Seconded by Jean Byrnes. This was approved and BVA were appointed for 2024/2025.

10. Guest Speaker: Was introduced by Pam Quinn. Senior Inspector Grant Gillian from Hermanus Law Enforcement. Inspector M Mbusi also attended from Law Enforcement. The focus was on Bylaw 67.4 (Bylaws relating to the Keeping of Pets can be found on the HAWS website). Senior Inspector Gillian explained that animals are considered "property" and that Law Enforcement and HAWS are limited by law as to what actions can be taken regarding animals. Law Enforcement and HAWS as a partner when complaints of stray animals are received. Senior Inspector also explained that although about 250 cases of dog fighting have been received, no official complaints are filed, no statements are received and witnesses are not prepared to come forward, preventing cases of being taken forward. Criminal complaints of animal abuse must be made to SAPS, who have to take statements and do an investigation. Members asked questions and Senior Inspector gave answers, there was some discussion over the reporting of animal matters and who is responsible to respond. Senior Inspector Gillian informed the meeting that there are a total of 70 Law Enforcement officers across the following units - Canine, Rapid Response, Law Enforcement. The area covered is from the Kleinmond crossing to Maanskyn has 6 officers per shift and with limited resources they will not respond to stray animal reports unless you have the animal secured or reports of animals being hit by cars, as they are not qualified to attend to the animal. Pam Quinn thanked the Law Enforcement team for attending the meeting.

## 11. Nominations and Election of new committee members:

Three members of the committee had stood down in terms of our constitution and are not available for reelection: - Irene Saunders, Pam Quinn and Alro De Swart

The remaining members - Marlene Deneeghere, Shana Essakow, Jean Byrnes, Sheetal Gordhan, Caroline Davies, were all available for re-election without nomination.

Several nominations were received from members: Hugh Hopkins, Dr Guy Regnard, Clair Tuttelberg, Maxine Zietsman, Kelly Kiewitz and Nicolene Basson (and although the committee believed there is a conflict of interest between the last 2 mentioned nominations, the committee has decided to accept their nominations in a spirit of co-operation and in good faith). One nomination was rejected outright by the committee. Some objection was raised in this regard by members and the secretary informed the meeting that the matter can be raised with the new committee. 2 Nominations received were withdrawn by the Nominees. All nominees gave a short overview of who they are and what they can bring to HAWS.

The following members were elected to the committee:

Marlene Deneeghere; Cheryl Richardson; Caroline Davies; Jean Byrnes; Shana Essakow; Hugh Hopkins; Dr Guy Regnard; Clair Tuttelberg; Maxine Zietsman; Kelly Kiewitz; Nicolene Basson.

The HAWS Constitution allows for a maximum of 11 Committee Members and therefore no voting was required.

12. General:

• Marlene thanked all Volunteers for all their hard work and contributions. Shana thanked Pam for her years of service to HAWS.

There being no further business, the meeting closed 19:15

## Shana Essakow

Shana Essakow Acting Secretary